Liberal Senator James Paterson endorses vaping

As the government Inquiry into legalising vaping in Australia continues, yet another federal senator has joined the long list of politicians endorsing vapes and e-cigarettes as a safer alternative and harm reduction solution for tobacco smoking.


Writing in the Herald Sun, Liberal Senator James Paterson of Victoria draws attention to Australia’s stalling smoking cessation rates in contrast to the USA and Europe where vaping is legal and despite Australia’s more rigorous restrictions and ever-increasing taxes on tobacco. “According to the latest figures from the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, released in June, there was no statistically significant fall in smoking rates among people aged 14 and over between 2013 and 2016. In contrast, smoking rates in the United Kingdom and United States declined considerably. In the UK, smoking rates of people aged 18 and over fell from 18.8 per cent in 2013 to 15.8 per cent in 2016. In the US, smoking rates fell from 17.8 per cent to 15.8 per cent over the same period.”

Not only has vaping been found to be an AT LEAST 95% safer alternative to carcinogenic tobacco smoking, it has also been endorsed as a smoking cessation strategy by leading experts and medical professionals worldwide, including tobacco treatment specialists like Professor Colin Mendelsohn of the University of New South Wales and professional bodies like the prestigious UK Royal College of Physicians and the Royal Australia and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists.

This is why both the USA and the UK not only keep vaping legal, but have explicitly incorporated the promotion of vaping in the anti-smoking strategies of their respective governments.

We hope more Aussie politicians will consider the overwhelming evidence and embrace the vape! With 285 out of 332 submissions to the recent government Inquiry supporting law reform – they have the support of the public behind them.

Senator Paterson’s full article can be viewed here.

Satyajeet Marar is the Director of Policy at the Australian Taxpayers’ Alliance and the Director of THRNow. He can be followed on Facebook.



Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.